Opinions, Tips on Cruises by the Industry leader! Find out which cruise lines and which destinations are appropriate for you through reading the insight of the industry leaders!
Home Beginners Guide Cruise Destination Guides Cruise Ship Reviews General Tips on Cruises Hotel Reviews Press Releases

April 27, 2010

OCEANIA CRUISES TO OFFER FIRST-EVERALASKA CRUISES FOR SUMMER 2011

oceania_cruises.jpg

Boutique Ports Plus Favorites and 2 Full Days of Glacier Cruising
Cruises Open for Sale on April 28

MIAMI, April 23, 2010 -The great land of Alaska will join the list of destinations visited on the award-winning itineraries of Oceania Cruises for summer 2011. Highlights include two full days of glacier cruising and a mix of marquee as well as off-the-beaten-path ports, the latter a hallmark of all Oceania Cruises' voyages.

Ten departures are designed to explore Alaska's Inside Passage in depth, including Sitka, Skagway, Juneau and Ketchikan, plus less-visited outposts such as Kodiak, Homer and Hoonah. Depending on the itinerary, travelers will also cruise the awe-inspiring Hubbard Glacier, Gulf of Alaska, Tracy Arm and College Fjord.

oceania_cruises_to_alaska.jpg

Travelers can choose from four exciting, new itineraries. With two-for-one fares and free air, a 10-day Alaska cruise starts at $3,499 per guest based on double occupancy.

Majestic Alaska ? 14 days roundtrip from San Francisco, a maiden port for Oceania Cruises, visiting Victoria and Vancouver, British Columbia; Sitka, Hoonah, Skagway, Juneau and Ketchikan, Alaska; and Astoria, Ore. Departures: May 12, Aug. 26.

Alaskan Grandeur ? 12 days between San Francisco and Vancouver. Ports include Astoria and Victoria, as well as Wrangell, Juneau, Hoonah, Sitka and Ketchikan. Departures: May 26, Aug. 14.

Frontiers and Glaciers ? 10 days roundtrip from Vancouver, calling at Sitka, Hoonah, Kodiak, Wrangell and Ketchikan. Departures: June 7, Aug. 4.

Glacial Wilderness ? 12 days between Vancouver and Anchorage, with visits to Ketchikan, Wrangell, Juneau, Hoonah, Skagway, Sitka, Seward and Homer. Departures: June 17 and 29, July 11 and 23.

"We are thrilled to add the 49th state to our growing slate of enriching itineraries," stated Frank Del Rio, Oceania Cruises' founder and chairman/CEO of parent company Prestige Cruise Holdings. "Our guests are always seeking destinations rich in history, culture, adventure and stunning scenery. The great state of Alaska delivers all of these points of interest and more. We would also like to thank Alaska's Governor, Sean Parnell, and the Alaska Legislature for their efforts to rollback the head tax on cruise passengers which was an important consideration in evaluating our deployment alternatives."

oceania_cruise_ships.jpg

Travelers will discover Alaska aboard Oceania Cruises' 684-guest Regatta ? an intimate ship acclaimed for its open-seating gourmet dining (no surcharges), luxurious public rooms and accommodations, and warm, attentive service.

Oceania Cruises' maiden Alaska cruises go on sale April 28, 2010. For reservations call an Alaska Specialist at Cruising2Alaska.com #1-800-738-8837.

About Oceania Cruises
Oceania Cruises is the world's only upper-premium cruise line and offers an unrivaled combination of the finest cuisine at sea, elegant accommodations, exceptional personalized service and extraordinary value. Award-winning itineraries visit more than 300 ports in Europe, Australia, New Zealand, Asia, and the Americas aboard the luxurious Regatta, Insignia, Nautica and brand new Marina. Riviera, a sister ship to Marina, is scheduled to join the fleet in April 2012.

About Prestige Cruise Holdings
Prestige Cruise Holdings (PCF) is the parent company of Oceania Cruises and Regent Seven Seas Cruises. Formed in 2007 to manage select assets in Apollo Management's cruise investment portfolio, PCH is led by Chairman and CEO Frank Del Rio, the founder of Oceania Cruises. PCH is the market leader in the upper-premium and luxury segments of the cruise industry with nearly 4,000 berths between the Oceania Cruises and Regent Seven Seas Cruises brands, a number the company expects will grow to approximately 6,500 berths by 2012.

Posted by Denise at 06:14 PM | Comments (0)

April 25, 2010

MSC Cruises Leads the Way When Protecting the Environment on Earth Day and Every Day

msc_cruises.jpg

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. (April 22, 2010)--Earth Day is upon us, and at MSC Cruises, its Eco ships were designed to preserve and protect the environment with high standards in place for disposing of waste materials while monitoring energy usage and minimizing the impact of its ships to the ocean.

MSC Cruises has implemented the Advanced Water Treatment (AWT) System which recycles and treats waste water according to the highest legal and eco friendly standards.

msc_cruises_cruise.jpg

An Energy Saving System is installed in all of the staterooms and public rooms to automatically monitor electricity usage. This reduces fuel consumption and gas emissions harmful to the environment by powering down unused systems.

Also, there?s an optimization of air-conditioned areas onboard through stateroom monitoring which manages climate conditions in the stateroom at all times and automatically adjusts the air-condition temperature in any instance of excessive or wasteful use.

msc_cruises.jpg

MSC has received numerous awards, certifications, and recognition for its Eco Ships.

MSC Magnifca, the newest ship in the MSC fleet, received The Green Planet Award, which aims to raise awareness about the critical situation the environment is currently facing, and human actions that adversely influence climate change.

MSC Splendida and MSC Fantasia, sister ships both new to the fleet, received the prestigious ?Six Golden Pearls? award by the international classification society Bureau Veritas, the only ships in the world to achieve this coveted title. MSC Splendida also received the first Energy Efficient Design designation by Bureau Veritas.

Six Golden Pearls is an integrated voluntary program that certifies corporate compliance with the three highest international standards in the areas of environment (ISO 14001), health and safety (OHSAS 18001) and food safety (ISO 22000). It includes an extra notation Cleanship 2 AWT, for the 3 domains ?potential pollution?: air, water, and waste.

MSC Cruises entered into an agreement with CiAl (Consorzio Nazionale per il Recupero e il Riciclo di Imballaggi in Alluminio) in the spring of 2007 for a collection of the boxes storing large quantities of aluminium that had been collected between May to December 2007. The company accumulated more than 22,000 pounds of aluminium, which was subsequently picked up in the port of Genoa.

Drink cans, other cans, aluminium foil, boxes and aluminium packing were all collected and given to CiAl, which recycles the aluminium to be reused in new items such as household goods, furnishings, structures for the construction of houses and transportation and more.

In an effort to both embrace the advances in technology and continue its commitment toward preserving the environment, MSC Cruises has updated its e-ticket policy this month as well to issue e-tickets for its bookings.

msc_cruises.jpg


MSC Splendida, MSC Fantasia, and MSC Poesia have their hulls painted with the new revolutionary paint ?foul release? with fluor-polymers, a non toxic substance which helps reduce CO˛ emissions through the reduction of fuel.

MSC Cruises was one of the first cruise companies to adhere to the Venice Blue Flag agreement, which governs ships transiting the canal of Venice using diesel oils and is designed to reduce their sulphur emissions. The company has received the most prestigious environmental certificates from recognized bodies, both national and international.

About MSC Cruises:

MSC Cruises has the most modern fleet in the world with eleven ships: MSC Magnifica, MSC Splendida and MSC Fantasia, MSC Poesia, MSC Orchestra, MSC Musica, MSC Sinfonia, MSC Armonia, MSC Opera, MSC Lirica and MSC Melody. The fleet cruises year round in the Mediterranean and seasonally in Northern Europe, the Atlantic Ocean, the Caribbean, US and Canada, (Fall 2010), South America, the Indian Ocean, and South and West Africa. MSC Cruises recently forged a three-year, million-dollar partnership with UNICEF to fund a community project in Brazil while increasing awareness of this cause onboard its ships.

Posted by Denise at 01:51 PM | Comments (0)

April 23, 2010

Princess Cruises Expands Canada & New England Program to Include Summer Sailings in 2011

princess_cruises.jpg

Nearly 30 Percent Increase in Capacity for Princess? Largest Season Ever in the Region
Next Summer also Features Bermuda & Eastern Caribbean Voyages from New York

SANTA CLARITA, Calif. (April 23, 2010) ? Princess Cruises will launch its largest Canada & New England program ever in 2011, with a new itinerary and an expanded season, offering nearly a 30 percent increase in capacity over the previous season. These summer cruises will sail between the line?s Caribbean sailings from New York, offering a selection of summer destinations from the ?Big Apple.?

The expanded Canada & New England season begins May 17 and introduces a new nine-day itinerary that adds calls in Sydney (Nova Scotia) and Charlottetown (Prince Edward Island) plus features many favorite ports in the region. Caribbean Princess will offer four sailings on this roundtrip New York route between departures on its nine-day Bermuda & Eastern Caribbean itinerary, giving passengers the choice of sailing north or south (or both) for their summer vacation.

princess_cruises.jpg

In autumn, the Canada & New England program continues with 14 sailings on two different itineraries ? weeklong roundtrips from New York on Caribbean Princess and the classic 10-day route between New York and Quebec City aboard Crown Princess. In addition, Crown Princess will offer a 12-day Canada and Colonial America sailing.

These sailings also feature opportunities to visit several UNESCO World Heritage Sites, unique places that represent the planet?s cultural and natural heritage. In Canada, travelers can visit the town of Lunenburg, Nova Scotia (from Halifax), and Crown Princess passengers can explore the historic old city of Quebec. In Bermuda, the historic town of St. George is designated a UNESCO site.

?The charm and natural beauty of the Canada and New England region have made these sailings so popular each fall, that we?re now expanding our season into the summer,? said Jan Swartz, Princess Cruises executive vice president. ?It?s our largest season ever, with the widest range of departures to choose from, so passengers should be able to find the perfect cruise to explore these scenic ports.?

princess_cruises.jpg


The 2011 Canada & New England and Summer Caribbean program includes:
Canada & New England ? During the summer months, Caribbean Princess will feature four sailings of a new roundtrip New York itinerary with calls at Sydney (Nova Scotia), Charlottetown (Prince Edward Island), Halifax, Bar Harbor, Boston and Newport. Sailings depart May 17, June 13, June 22 and July 19. In August, the ship resumes its popular seven-day sailings featuring Halifax, Saint John, Bar Harbor, Boston and Newport, with eleven departures between August 6 and October 15.

Classic Canada & New England ? Crown Princess sails on three Classic Canada & New England 10-day cruises between New York and Quebec City, featuring calls in Newport, Boston, Saint John, Halifax, Sydney, Charlottetown and an overnight in Quebec. Crown Princess departs on these sailings between September 14 and October 4. The ship also offers one 12-day Canada & Colonial America sailing from Quebec City to Ft. Lauderdale on October 14, also featuring an overnight in Quebec and calls along the Eastern seaboard in Halifax, Bar Harbor, Boston, Newport, New York and Charleston.

Bermuda & Eastern Caribbean ? Caribbean Princess will also offer six sailings to the crystal waters of the Caribbean with a nine-day Bermuda & Eastern Caribbean itinerary roundtrip from New York that includes calls at Bermuda (West End), San Juan, St. Thomas, and Grand Turk. Sailings depart on May 8, May 26, June 4, July 1, July 10, and July 28. The ship will also feature one seven-day sailing from San Juan to New York with calls in St. Thomas, Antigua and Bermuda, departing on May 1.

princess_cruises.jpg


Fares for seven-day Canada & New England sailings begin at $799 per person, and nine-day Caribbean sailings begin at $999 per person. Sailings open for booking May 6, 2010.

Additional information about Princess Cruises is available through a Princess Expert at Cruising2Paradise.com #1-800-738-8837.

Posted by Denise at 03:04 PM | Comments (0)

April 22, 2010

Norwegian Offers Kids From $99 With Summer Blockbuster Event

norwegian_cruise_line.jpg

Miami - Apr 16, 2010 - Norwegian Cruise Line kicks off its Summer Blockbuster event on Monday, April 19, 2010 with a three-day preview for its Latitudes members (past guests) beginning on Friday, April 16, 2010. Kid's cruise on Norwegian from $99 each when booked as third through eight guests on select 2010 sailings for new reservations made now through May 31, 2010. In addition, reduced cruise deposits are offered on new summer bookings from now through May 2, 2010. Norwegian will announce several other promotional offers over the six-week Summer Blockbuster event which ends on May 31.

Guests can experience the ultimate summer vacation on any of Norwegian's Freestyle Cruising ships to popular destinations such as: Alaska; Canada & New England; Bahamas & Florida; Bermuda; the Caribbean; Hawai'i and Europe.

norwegian_cruise_line.jpg

"When you're Freestyle Cruising on Norwegian Cruise Line, you get what you want and so do your kids. With plunging waterslides, a two-story Wii wall, and Nickelodeon at Sea, there's something for everyone, no matter what their age," said Kevin Sheehan, Norwegian Cruise Line's chief executive officer. "With Norwegian's complimentary Kid's Crew supervised children's program, parents are able to sneak away to the spa for a few hours or even a romantic dinner. We also offer family-friendly accommodations including interconnecting staterooms and multi-room Suites and Villas."

On April 24, 2010, Norwegian Jewel will begin offering its exclusive Nickelodeon at Sea activities and shows on board each and every cruise year-round, in addition to all the current on-board programming already offered. This programming will also be available on Norwegian Epic when the ship launches this summer. Hints of Nickelodeon will be discovered ship-wide with programs that include signature Nickelodeon activities, popular characters and interactive game shows the entire family can enjoy together.

Specifically, Nickelodeon will offer its Slime Time Live! and Nick Live! Poolside interactive shows; Story Time with Dora where guests are invited to gather around to hear stories about some of their favorite Dora the Explorer characters; Dora's Dance Party where kids will join Dora and the Nickelodeon cast to dance and sing along with all of Dora's favorite party songs; character breakfasts; meet and greets around the ship with Nickelodeon characters; Nickelodeon-themed arts and crafts, along with special enhancements to Norwegian's Kids Crew programming.

norwegian_cruise_line.jpg

For more information on Norwegian Cruise Line contact an NCL Specialist at Cruising2Europe.com at #1-800-738-8837.

About Norwegian Cruise Line
Norwegian Cruise Line(Norwegian)is the innovator in cruise travel with a 43-year history of breaking the boundaries of traditional cruising, most notably with the introduction of Freestyle Cruising which has revolutionized the industry by allowing guests more freedom and flexibility.

Today, Norwegian has the youngest fleet in the industry with 10 purpose-built Freestyle Cruising ships, providing guests the opportunity to enjoy a relaxed cruise vacation on the newest, most contemporary ships at sea.

Norwegian is presently building Norwegian Epic, the company's largest and most innovative Freestyle Cruising ship to date, for delivery in June 2010. Norwegian Cruise Line is the official cruise line of Blue Man Group, debuting for the first time at sea on Norwegian Epic.

Posted by Denise at 05:09 PM | Comments (0)

April 11, 2010

Moana Lani Spa Review, A Heavenly Spa by Westin

Moana Lani Spa Review, A Heavenly Spa by Westin
Located at the Moana Surfrider Hotel by Westin in Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii

When reviewing a hotel or spa I usually score out of 10, but I feel this spa should be given a score out of 100. Therefore, I rate it 93 out of 100!

moana_surfrider_westin_resort.jpg

The Moana Lani Spa is the best spa I've ever been too. Now, I should give you some background. Over my many years of adulthood I have been to many spas on land and at sea (on cruise ships). Every holiday I take I visit the spa and when I'm at home I visit local spa's in my home town, Vancouver, at least 3 times per year. I think I'm well versed at what spas offer, from change rooms to treatments. I've had massages, wraps, facials, manicures, pedicures, waxing and electrolysis.

To give this spa such a high rating I looked at the following; check-in and check-out, decor, relaxation sitting, amenities, cleaniness and staff interaction. Some could say I'm over-analyzing for this review, but I feel that women in this world deserve a really great spa and when spending your precious money, to spent it wisely.

moana_lani_spa.jpg

Both checking in and checking out I was greeted in a friendly, courteous manner and with a smile. While checking in I was asked my name, she confirmed what treatment(s) I was having and then asked if I had any coupons or special offers. I thought asking this question was great. As a client having to ask to use a coupon can feel a little uncomfortable and most people don't know when to show the coupon, at the beginning or at the end. She then walked me to a small waiting room where I read a form, signed in and sat for under 1 minute before I was greeted by another friendly face. This lady walked me into the change room area, opening each door for me and then giving me a tour of the spa. Again, a nice touch since I had not been to the spa in the past and did not know where things were.

The change rooms are spilt into two areas, both offering two make-up/hair drying areas with mirrors, a small ottoman in the middle of the room to place items or sit while changing and wooden lockers on one side of the room. Each locker has a keypad on it and the lady showing me around taught me how to use it. I thought this was very smart. No need to carry around a key in your robe pocket! Inside the locker there were rubber sandals, a robe, a hanger and three cubby holes for shoes and other items.

moana_lani_spa_treatment.jpg

After getting changed I went into the relaxation room to get some water. Here you could also find a fruit basket, which mainly offered oranges and Fuji apples, three types of tea bags (very high quality tea; I remember one of the flavours was raspberry truffle because I had a glass after my treatment), honey crystals, water (that was ice cubes melted into lemons so the water was nice and cold) and cups.

The relaxation room faced Waikiki Beach. There were two giant windows and one lanai/balcony with the doors open. An amazing view of the beach and ocean were found here. Plus, the relaxation room offered very comfortable sitting. Two window seats, under each giant window, some regular oversized chairs with cushions, and five chaise lounge seats. All seating offered a coffee table next or in-between them so you could put down your drink. They also offered magazines on the coffee tables. Two large ceiling fans moved the fresh air around the room and did I mention the decor was beautiful. Soft blue hues on the chair cushions with a warm brown wicker feel to the chairs and ceiling fans.

I then went into the hot tub, which was one room over and also offered the same ocean and beach views. Here I sat for 10 minutes unwinding. Just behind the hot tub you'll find a large steam room and large sauna. Outside the steam room is a large stacks of ice cold face cloths and some dry oversized towels. I took a short steam and then dried off and returned to the lounge. I had some water, read a magazine in a chaise lounge chair and waited for my appointment to begin.

I had a 50 minute Swedish massage by a middle-aged Asian women, who was very friendly. She escorted me to the treatment room and asked that I sit. She then gave me a small wooden bowl with salts inside. She asked me to put all my worries and thoughts into these salts and at the end of the day the salts would be thrown into the sea. She called it cleansing.

She left the room to let me get onto the bed and the next 50 minutes were very relaxing. She asked what pressure I'd like, which I requested light to medium, and her strength was perfect. After my nap, I mean massage, I was escorted back to the lounge. Here I sat looking out at the blue of the water and sipping my raspberry truffle tea. After an hour of relaxing I used the restroom, changed and left the spa.

My check-out was just as pleasant as my check-in and I left thinking how fondly I'd like to return.

I will happily return to this spa when I return to Honolulu!

Written by Denise Blackmore

Posted by Denise at 02:48 PM | Comments (0)

April 08, 2010

AARP Selects Norwegian Cruise Line As A Preferred Cruise Line Provider

norwegian_cruise_line.jpg

Relationship gives AARP's millions of members access to preferred rates on cruise line's signature Freestyle Cruising fleet, the youngest in the cruise industry

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Apr 8, 2010 - AARP and Norwegian Cruise Line today announced a new relationship that will give AARP members access to special rates on the cruise line's fleet of Freestyle Cruising ships, including the line's newest and most innovative ship, Norwegian Epic. Norwegian Cruise Line has the youngest fleet in the industry and sails to destinations around the world, including the Caribbean, Europe, Alaska, Hawaii, Bermuda and more.

norwegian_cruise_line.jpg

"AARP members live active lives and want options when it comes to travel," said John Wider, president and chief executive officer of AARP Services, Inc., a wholly-owned subsidiary of AARP. "Cruising is popular among our members, so we are pleased to make more options available to them through this new relationship with Norwegian Cruise Line."

When booking a cruise with Norwegian Cruise Line, AARP members will receive a five percent savings for reservations made at least nine months prior to sailing. Norwegian also is making available a limited time offer to AARP members who book a cruise from April 1 through April 30, 2010 for travel anytime in 2010. The offer includes a $50 on-board credit per stateroom and a 50 percent reduced deposit on select cruises to Bermuda, Canada & New England, Western Mediterranean and the Bahamas from New York.

"When looking at travel options, AARP members should consider the incredible vacation experience that cruising offers," said Kevin Sheehan, Norwegian Cruise Line's chief executive officer. "Add to that our signature Freestyle Cruising experience, along with the newest, most contemporary ships at sea, and I am confident that AARP members will have the vacation of a lifetime when choosing to sail with us."

norwegian_cruise_line.jpg

Norwegian Cruise Line's Freestyle Cruising experience gives guests the opportunity to customize their cruise vacation to suit their needs. This includes the choice of up to 21 restaurants offering traditional and contemporary options and a wide variety of cuisine styles; a variety of amenities including world-class entertainment; and the widest selection of accommodations at sea, including more family-friendly interconnecting staterooms and suites than anyone else.

For more information on Norwegian Cruise Line or to book a cruise, contact Cruising2Paradise.com at #1-800-738-8837.

ABOUT AARP
AARP is a nonprofit, nonpartisan membership organization that helps people 50+ have independence, choice and control in ways that are beneficial and affordable to them and society as a whole. AARP does not endorse candidates for public office or make contributions to either political campaigns or candidates. We produce AARP The Magazine, the definitive voice for 50+ Americans and the world's largest-circulation magazine with over 35.7 million readers; AARP Bulletin, the go-to news source for AARP's 40 million members and Americans 50+; AARP VIVA, the only bilingual U.S. publication dedicated exclusively to the 50+ Hispanic community; and our website, AARP.org. AARP Foundation is an affiliated charity that provides security, protection, and empowerment to older persons in need with support from thousands of volunteers, donors, and sponsors. We have staffed offices in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

ABOUT AARP SERVICES, INC.
AARP Services, Inc., founded in 1999, is a wholly-owned taxable subsidiary of AARP. AARP Services manages the provider relationships for and performs quality control oversight of the wide range of products and services that carry the AARP name and are made available by independent providers as benefits to AARP's almost 40 million members. The provider offers currently span health products, travel and leisure products, and life event services. Specific products include Medicare supplemental insurance; member discounts on rental cars, cruises, vacation packages and lodging; special offers on technology and gifts; pharmacy services; legal services; and long-term care insurance. AARP Services also engages in new product development activities for AARP and provides certain consulting services to outside companies. In 2005, AARP Services founded AARP Financial Inc., a wholly-owned taxable subsidiary that manages the provider relationships for and performs quality control oversight for the financial products that carry the AARP name, including credit cards, auto and home, mobile home and motorcycle insurance, and life insurance and annuities. AARP Financial also provides access to proprietary investment products and services, including mutual funds and financial guidance, designed to meet the needs of investors at any life stage.

About Norwegian Cruise Line
Norwegian Cruise Line(Norwegian)is the innovator in cruise travel with a 43-year history of breaking the boundaries of traditional cruising, most notably with the introduction of Freestyle Cruising which has revolutionized the industry by allowing guests more freedom and flexibility.

Today, Norwegian has the youngest fleet in the industry with 10 purpose-built Freestyle Cruising ships, providing guests the opportunity to enjoy a relaxed cruise vacation on the newest, most contemporary ships at sea.

Norwegian is presently building Norwegian Epic, the company's largest and most innovative Freestyle Cruising ship to date, for delivery in June 2010. Norwegian Cruise Line is the official cruise line of Blue Man Group, debuting for the first time at sea on Norwegian Epic.

Posted by Denise at 05:02 PM | Comments (0)

April 06, 2010

Contemporary new venue allows guests to 'stay social,' shop and learn

celebrity_cruises.jpg

Just two months ago, in a vivid reinforcement of its new brand platform, "Designed for you," Celebrity Cruises announced plans to introduce on Celebrity Eclipse ? the third in Celebrity Cruises' stylish Solstice Class fleet of ships ? the first "Celebrity iLounge." The announcement met with such positive response from guests, travel agents and press that today, the brand announced plans to introduce the hip, modern lounge on Celebrity Solstice and Celebrity Summit next month.

Dubbed by members of the press as "a hipster haven," "a nifty app for tech junkies," and an illustration of "how much thought some cruise lines are putting into their Internet offerings, while others treat it as an afterthought," the Celebrity iLounge on Celebrity Solstice and Celebrity Summit will ? as on Celebrity Eclipse ? offer what the line's guests said they wanted most in an Internet café: easy access to the Internet, inspiring classes and new products.

The Celebrity iLounge on each ship will consist of three main areas: a series of contemporary MacBook workstations where guests can check their e-mail, retain their social media connections, or print boarding passes; a retail space offering cruisers the opportunity to check out the latest MacBooks, iPods and accessories; and an enrichment center where certified staff will offer guests tips on Mac or iPod® usage.

celebrity_cruises.jpg

"Our 'Designed for you' brand platform is built on Celebrity's commitment to listen to our guests and offer experiences and programs inspired by them," said Celebrity's President and CEO Dan Hanrahan. "The reaction we received after announcing the new venue on Celebrity Eclipse made it clear that our guests would appreciate more opportunities to experience the Celebrity iLounge, and now, they can do that while sailing year-round in the Caribbean on our stunning Celebrity Solstice, or while visiting the sophisticated island of Bermuda on Celebrity Summit."

Cruisers themselves can become more sophisticated with new applications for creatively preserving meaningful vacation moments. Within the ?Discover? component of its "Celebrity Life" series of inspiring enrichment and entertainment experiences, Celebrity will offer in each Celebrity iLounge a series of engaging new courses, including movie editing and web design, through programs including iPhoto, iMovie, iDVD and iWeb. And Celebrity's certified staffers will be well-equipped to assist, having completed more than 125 hours of training in operating systems, applications and products.
Technophiles and collectors of cool merchandise alike will find the Celebrity iLounge an enticing venue. As an Authorized Apple Reseller, Celebrity will offer a variety of products in each Celebrity iLounge for guests to purchase, including iPods, MacBooks and essential accessories.

Located on deck six of Celebrity Solstice and Celebrity Eclipse, the Celebrity iLounge will house the 26 MacBook Pro?s, classroom and retail area, in addition to display pods, a 56-inch flat-screen TV for use during classes, and an accessible workstation.
On Celebrity Summit, the Celebrity iLounge will replace the current computer classroom on deck six, with the same new products and technologies as on Celebrity Eclipse and Celebrity Solstice. Even the ?Online@Celebrity? cybercafé on deck four of Celebrity Summit will be retrofitted with entirely new MacBook workstations.

The new Celebrity iLounge will be 'live' on Celebrity Summit by May 16, on Celebrity Solstice by May 30, and on April 26 on Celebrity Eclipse, when the new ship enters service. The Celebrity iLounge also will be presented on Celebrity Silhouette, which launches in 2011, and the fifth ship in the Solstice Class fleet, which sets sail in 2012.

Posted by Denise at 05:35 PM | Comments (0)

April 02, 2010

MSC Cruises Sends Additional Ship to South Africa for 2010/11 Summer Cruise Season

msc_cruises.jpg

FORT LAUDERDALE, FLA. (March 31, 2010) - MSC announced it will be operating two cruise ships simultaneously out of South Africa during the upcoming 2010/11 season in order to meet increased market demand and offer variety to the South African cruise market.

MSC Sinfonia, with a capacity of 1,544 guests, has enjoyed a highly successful maiden season operating out of Durban. She returns for a second extended cruise season from November 2010 until May 2011. MSC Melody, with a capacity of 1,064 guests, accompanies her to the South African market.

The decision to operate two ships simultaneously shows MSC Cruises' commitment to the South African market. MSC Cruises will also make important investments into improving embarkation facilities at the Port of Durban as well as developing and enhancing areas of Portuguese Island in Mozambique.

msc_cruises.jpg

Stefano Vigoriti, newly appointed managing director of MSC Cruises in South Africa, said, "The introduction of a second vessel will increase our capacity to over 100,000 guests for the season providing the general public, and especially the conference and incentive corporate market, greater options, competitive pricing, and more destinations from which to choose."

MSC Sinfonia will continue its itinerary in and around the Indian Ocean islands while MSC Melody will offer South African and international travelers new and varied cruise options and experiences. Itineraries will feature cruises from Cape Town and offer longer cruises in Durban with ports of call in Madascar, Mauritius, Reunion, and Seychelles.

For more information about MSC Cruises, visit www.cruising2europe.com, call 800-738-8837.

About MSC Cruises:
MSC Cruises has the most modern fleet in the world with eleven ships: MSC Magnifica, MSC Splendida and MSC Fantasia, MSC Poesia, MSC Orchestra, MSC Musica, MSC Sinfonia, MSC Armonia, MSC Opera,MSC Lirica and MSC Melody. The fleet cruises year round in the Mediterraneanand seasonally in Northern Europe, the Atlantic Ocean, the Caribbean,US and Canada, (Fall 2010), South America, the Indian Ocean, and South and West Africa. MSC Cruises recently forged a three-year, million-dollar partnership with UNICEF to fund a community project in Brazil while increasing awareness of this cause onboard its ships.

Posted by Denise at 01:39 PM | Comments (0)